18 Minnesota lawmakers got shutdown pay retroactively

18 Minnesota lawmakers got shutdown pay retroactively Click to Enlarge Photo:

Aug 22, 2011 at 11:20 am

ST. PAUL, Minn. (AP) - Eighteen Minnesota House members who declined paychecks during last month's state government shutdown went back for the money.     

The House payroll office released a list Monday showing that 11 Democrats and seven Republicans were paid retroactively after the shutdown.

Republicans on the list included Paul Anderson, Roger Crawford, Steve Drazkowski, Pat Garofalo, Jennifer Loon, Peggy Scott and Chris Swedzinski.


Democrats were Joe Atkins, Denise Dittrich, Mindy Grieling, Sheldon Johnson, Phyllis Kahn, Carolyn Laine, Terry Morrow, Kim Norton, Linda Slocum and Ryan Winkler.


Another 32 state representatives took a $1,600 pay cut, representing the amount they would have earned during the 20-day government closure.  Two representatives, including St. Cloud Rep. Steve Gottwalt, elected to have their future pay reduced to offset salary earned during the July shut down, according to KARE-TV.


Lawmakers were entitled to salaries when government closed for 20 days in July, but about a third of the 201-member Legislature declined pay.


The shutdown threw 22,000 state employees out of work and interrupted services ranging from camping in state parks to driver's license exams.


House members were allowed to go back for the pay later. That wasn't an option in the Senate, where 14 senators declined shutdown paychecks. 

Leave a Comment

Current Weather

For Central Minnesota

Temp: 50°F (10°C)

Dewpoint: 47

Wind: 7 E

Weather: Clear

Full Forecast | Live Radar

Featured Videos