School board seats and levy results

School board seats and levy results Click to Enlarge Photo:

Nov 7, 2012 at 6:08 am

ST. CLOUD, Minn. (KNSI) The St. Cloud School Board saw four seats filled at the polls Tuesday. Al Dahlgren, Cindy Harner, Les Green and Dennis Whipple were elected. And there were three spots on the St. Cloud City Council that were decided. Those council seats go to George Hontos, Jeff Goerger and Carol Lewis.

The Sartell St. Stephen School Board will have a new look with several candidates elected Tuesday. Krista Durrwachter, Jason Nies and Pam Raden were the winners for four year terms, and Michelle Meyer was the top vote-getter for a two year term. Sartell voters also filled two seats on the city council. Steve Hennes and Amy Braig-Lindstrom will fill those spots.

Two school districts in the area had tax levy questions on the ballot Tuesday--and in both cases--they passed. Fifty-nine percent of voters in the ROCORI School District approved the extension of an $800,000 a year operational levy that is set to expire. And in the Sauk Rapids-Rice School District, voters passed a $1.7 million dollar a year operational levy. Superintendent Dan Bittman says approval was vital to avoid teacher layoffs and larger class sizes.

Posted By

's Profile

Leave a Comment

Current Weather

For Central Minnesota

Temp: 72°F (22°C)

Dewpoint: 53

Wind: 9 SE

Weather: Clear

Full Forecast | Live Radar

Featured Videos