CLC Wrestling State Championship

Mar 11, 2013 at 8:21 am

There were 29 State Qualifiers and 8 State place winners  from the Central Lakes Conference.

State Champion

St. Cloud Apollo

  • Mitch Bengtson 12th Grade 138 Pounds 48-0

State Place Winners

St. Cloud Apollo

  • Grant Nehring 12th 145 Pounds 39-3 3rd Place
  • Bryce Kirchner 11th 220 Pounds 34-14 5th Place

St. Cloud Tech

  • Jared Nieland 12th 285 Pounds 38-8 5th Place

Sartell Sabres

The Sabres dropped their quarterfinal section 8AAA dual to Alexandria 40-27. They had eleven section place winners including one state qualifier; Daniel Vitale. Drew Biernusa and Zach Motschke both earned third place, Nick Jansen, Zach Pederson and Brady Goebel all earned fourth place. Jacob Fernholz, Garrett Counter and Theordore Deuel both earned fifth place. Jonathan Pelch and Sam Krauel both took sixth place.

Apollo Eagles

The Eagles dropped their first Section 8AAA dual to Little Falls 46-27. They had six section place winners including four state qualifiers; Mitch Bengston, Grand Nerhing and Peter Nelson all won section championships and Bryce Kirchner earned second place. Matt Braun earned third place and Drew VanVleet took sixth place.

Sauk Rapids/Rice Storm

The Storm topped St. Cloud Tech in their Section 8AAA preliminary dual and they dropped their quarterfinal dual to Moorhead 52-20. The Storm had four wrestlers win both of their section dual matches; Taylor Rau, Korey Keske, Austin Walz and Chris Keske.

The Storm had nine section place winners including four state qualifiers; Chris Keske was section champion and Taylor Rau, Kory Keske and Austin Walz all earned second place for their trip to the state tourney. Charley Rudy earned third place, McKinley Lain, Dylan Vait and Trent Klejeski all earned fifth place and Richard Carriveau took sixth place.

Tech Tigers

The Tigers dropped their Section 8AAA preliminary dual to Sauk Rapids 37-32. They had seven section place winners including two state qualifiers; Jarrad Nieland was section champion and Austin Klaverkamp earned second place for his trip. Noah Voit and Patrick Neihaus both earned third place, Austin Brenner and Joseph Reed earned fourth place and Justin Kilanowski took sixth place.

Rocori Spartans

The Spartans dropped their first section 6AAA dual to Mound-Westonka 47-32. They had seven section place winners including one state qualifier; Tyler Hoffman earned second place. Cody Buermann earned third place, Gunner Feldhege and Adam Kunz both earned fourth place. Nick Warne and Ryan Vigil both earned fifth place and Dalton Galfas took sixth place.

Posted By Roger Mischke

Staff Writer

Roger Mischke's Profile

Leave a Comment

Player of the Week

Tech's Trevor Koenig

Tech's Trevor Koenig

For the Week Of Apr 24, 2017

All Star Trophy and Awards and KNSI is happy to name Trevor Koenig the Player of the Week!

Read More

Upcoming Sports Events

Tech vs. Bemidji Foo | Wed October 18, 2017 12:00 am

High School Football |