Alabama-Huntsville joining WCHA

Alabama-Huntsville joining WCHA Click to Enlarge Photo:

Jan 18, 2013 at 7:08 am

MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. (KNSI) The Western Collegiate Hockey Association will have 10 teams after it breaks up this year with the addition of Alabama-Huntsville.

The WCHA announced Thursday the Chargers could join next season. They've been an independent since the College Hockey America conference dissolved three years ago. The program, started in 1985, has made two NCAA tournaments since moving to Division I in 1998.

The WCHA currently has 12 teams, but Minnesota and Wisconsin will help form the Big Ten in the fall. Colorado College, Denver, Minnesota Duluth, Nebraska Omaha, North Dakota and St. Cloud State will join the new National Collegiate Hockey Conference.

Alaska Fairbanks, Bowling Green State, Ferris State, Lake Superior State and Northern Michigan will join Alaska Anchorage, Bemidji State, Michigan Tech and Minnesota State in the WCHA next season.

Posted By

's Profile

Leave a Comment

Current Weather

For Central Minnesota

Temp: 39°F (4°C)

Dewpoint: 32

Wind: Calm N

Weather: Clear

Full Forecast | Live Radar

Featured Videos